

NON-GOVERNMENT (Voting)

Tetsuzan Benny Ron Business Com

James Coon Citizen-At-Large

Vacant Commercial Shipping

Barbara (Maka'ala) Kaaumoana Conservation

Judith Lemus Education

Myrick (Rick) Gaffney Fishing

Adam Pack (Chair) Hawai'i County

Roberts (Bob) Leinau Honolulu County

George Thompson Kaua'i County

Solomon Pili Kahoʻohalahala Lānaʻi Island

Robin Newbold Maui County

Walter Ritte

Moloka'i Island Matthew Kawaiola Sproat

Native Hawaiian

Douglass Cole Ocean Recreation

John (Jack) Kittinger Research

Kelsey Poole

Tourism

Gregory Kaufmar Whale Watching

GOVERNMENT (Non-Voting)

Leo Asuncion DBEDT – Office of Planning

Veronica Rocha DBEDT Renewable Energy

Carty Chang DLNR

Elia Herman DLNR – Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS

Laura McIntyre DOH

Sandra Rossetter DOT – Harbors

Keola Lindsev OHA (Voting

Gene Brighouse NMS of American Samoa

Malia (Hawa

Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council

MEETING AGENDA

67th Meeting March 31, 2015, 9 am - 5 pm Pagoda Hotel, International Ballroom, Honolulu

Oral Testimony:

Those wishing to speak on agenda items may add their name to the public comment sign-up sheet located in the meeting room on the day of the meeting. Oral testimony is limited to three minutes. Please identify yourself and whom you represent at the beginning of your testimony. Written comments for the council received by Friday, March 27 will be distributed to the council members prior to the meeting. After March 27th, it is the submitter's responsibility to provide sanctuary staff with an adequate number of copies for distribution to the council members in attendance (a minimum of 50 copies) the day of the meeting. Written comments may be mailed to NOS/ONMS/Shannon Lyday/1845 Wasp Blvd, Building 176, Honolulu, HI 96818, or e-mailed to shannon.lyday@noaa.gov. To receive more information, please contact Shannon Lyday at (808) 725-5905.

Purpose:

The purpose of this meeting is to provide the Sanctuary Advisory Council with a summary of the process and actions taken to develop the Draft Management Plan/Draft Environmental Impact Statement and proposed rule. The objective is for the council to understand the proposal in order to prepare for a council resolution at the May council meeting. The Northwestern Hawaiian Islands Coral Reef Ecosystem Reserve Advisory Council (RAC) has been invited to participate in this meeting since members of the RAC can provide valuable input for implementing an archipelagicwide approach to marine ecosystem-based management in the Hawaiian Islands.

Agenda

Malia Chow Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS	9:00 am	Welcome and Introductions
David Swatland Papahānaumokuākea MNM		
Take Tomson NOAA OLE	9:30 am	Remarks by Dan Basta, Director, Office of National Marine
Rachel Sprague NOAA Fisheries PIRO		Sanctuaries
Eric Kingma WESPAC (Voting)	10:15 am	Council Business
Shelly Lynch US Army Corps of Engineers		
Eric Roberts US Coast Guard	10:30 am	BREAK
Janice Fukawa <i>US Navy</i>		
	10:45 am	Background of Management Plan Review

"The opinions and findings of this letter/publication do not necessarily reflect the position of the sanctuary, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration or the State of Hawai'i."



Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council

NON-GOVERNMENT (Voting)

Tetsuzan Benny Ron Business Commerce		
James Coon Citizen-At-Large	11:30 am	Range of Alternatives and Proposed Boundary Changes
Vacant Commercial Shipping		
Barbara (Maka'ala) Kaaumoana Conservation	12:30 pm	LUNCH
Judith Lemus Education		Proposed Regulatory Action
Myrick (Rick) Gaffney Fishing	1:15 pm	
Adam Pack (Chair) <i>Hawai'i County</i>	2:00 pm	Proposed Programmatic Action
Roberts (Bob) Leinau Honolulu County	•	
George Thompson Kaua'i County	2:30 pm	BREAK
Solomon Pili Kaho'ohalahala <i>Lāna'i Island</i>		
Robin Newbold Maui County	3:15 pm	Section 106 Consultation Process
Walter Ritte Moloka'i Island	3:30 pm	Public Comment Period
Matthew Kawaiola Sproat Native Hawaiian	0.00 pm	
Douglass Cole Ocean Recreation	4:00 pm	Next Steps in Management Plan Review Process
John (Jack) Kittinger <i>Research</i>		
Kelsey Poole Tourism	5:00 pm	Pau
Gregory Kaufman Whale Watching		
GOVERNMENT (Non-Voting)	This age	enda is for planning purposes only and is subject to change.
Leo Asuncion DBEDT – Office of Planning		
Veronica Rocha DBEDT Renewable Energy		
Carty Chang DLNR		
Elia Herman DLNR – Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS		
Laura McIntyre DOH		
Sandra Rossetter DOT – Harbors		
Keola Lindsey OHA (Voting)		
Gene Brighouse NMS of American Samoa		
Malia Chow Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS		
David Swatland Papahānaumokuākea MNM		
Take Tomson NOAA OLE		
Rachel Sprague NOAA Fisheries PIRO		
Eric Kingma WESPAC (Voting)		
Shelly Lynch US Army Corps of Engineers		
Eric Roberts US Coast Guard		
Janice Fukawa US Navy		