

# Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council

#### NON-GOVERNMENT (Voting)

Teri Leicher

James Coon Citizen-At-Large

Vacant Commercial Shipping

Barbara (Maka'ala) Kaaumoana

Conservation

Judith Lemus

Myrick (Rick) Gaffney

Adam Pack (Chair) Hawai'i County Roberts (Bob) Leinau

Honolulu County George Thompson Kana'i County

Solomon Pili Kahoʻohalahala *Lānaʻi Island* 

Robin Newbold Maui County

Walter Ritte Moloka'i Island

Matthew Kawaiola Sproat Native Hawaiian

Douglass Cole

John (Jack) Kittinger

Kelsev Poole

Vacant *Whale Watching* 

#### GOVERNMENT (Non-Voting)

Leo Asuncion DBEDT – Office of Planning

Veronica Rocha DBEDT Renewable Energy

Suzanne Case DLNR

Elia Herman

DLNR – Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS

Laura McIntyre DOH

Sandra Rossetter DOT – Harbors

Keola Lindsey

Gene Brighouse NMS of American Samoa

Malia Chow Hawaiian Islands

Humpback Whale NMS

Athline Clark Papahānaumokuākea MNM

Jeffrey Pollack NOAA OLE

Rachel Sprague NOAA Fisheries PIRO

Eric Kingma WESPAC (Voting)

Shelly Lynch US Army Corps of Engineers

Janice Fukawa US Navy

Eric Roberts

# **MEETING AGENDA**

68<sup>th</sup> Meeting July 20, 2015, 9 am - 5 pmPagoda Hotel, International Ballroom, Honolulu

## **Oral Testimony:**

Those wishing to speak on agenda items may add their name to the public comment sign-up sheet located in the meeting room on the day of the meeting. Oral testimony is limited to three minutes. Please identify yourself and whom you represent at the beginning of your testimony. Written comments for the council received by Friday, July 17 will be distributed to the council members prior to the meeting. After July 17th, it is the submitter's responsibility to provide sanctuary staff with an adequate number of copies for distribution to the council members in attendance (a minimum of 50 copies) the day of the meeting. Written comments may be mailed to NOS/ONMS/Shannon Lyday/1845 Wasp Blvd, Building 176, Honolulu, HI 96818, or e-mailed to shannon.lyday@noaa.gov. To receive more information, please contact Shannon Lyday at (808) 725-5905.

## **Purpose:**

9:00 am

The purpose of this meeting is for the Management Plan Review working group to present the results of their evaluation and recommendations for discussion for the Sanctuary Advisory Council to take action on the Sanctuary's Draft Management Plan and Draft Environmental Impact Statement.

### Agenda

9:30 am	Office of National Marine Sanctuaries Presentation
9:45 am	Council Business
10:00 am	<b>Summary of Public Comment Period</b>
10:15 am	Overview of Proposed Regulations
11:00 am	Break
11:15 am	Management Plan Review Working Group Report

Welcome and Introductions



# Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine **Sanctuary Advisory Council**

#### NON-GOVERNMENT (Voting)

Teri Leicher Business Commerce

James Coon 12:15 pm LUNCH Citizen-At-Large

Vacant Commercial Shipping

Council Discussion Period/Q & A with MPR Working Group 1:15 pm Barbara (Makaʻala) Kaaumoana

Conservation

Judith Lemus **Season-end Large Whale Response Report** 2:15 pm

Myrick (Rick) Gaffney Fishing

**End of the Year Enforcement Report** 2:30 pm Adam Pack (Chair) Hawai'i County

Roberts (Bob) Leinau Honolulu County

**Break** 2:45 pm

George Thompson Kaua'i County

**Public Comment Period** 3:00 pm

Solomon Pili Kahoʻohalahala *Lānaʻi Island* Robin Newbold Maui County

Walter Ritte Moloka'i Island 3:30 pm **Council Discussion Period** 

Matthew Kawaiola Sproat Native Hawaiian

**Next Steps** 4:30 pm

Douglass Cole Ocean Recreation

John (Jack) Kittinger Research

5:00 pm Pau

Kelsey Poole Tourism

Vacant Whale Watching

#### GOVERNMENT (Non-Voting)

Leo Asuncion DBEDT – Office of Planning

Veronica Rocha DBEDT Renewable Energy

Suzanne Case DLNR

Elia Herman DLNR – Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS

Laura McIntyre DOH

Sandra Rossetter DOT – Harbors

Keola Lindsey OHA (Voting)

Gene Brighouse NMS of American Samoa

Malia Chow Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS

Athline Clark Papahānaumokuākea MNM

Jeffrey Pollack NOAA OLE

Rachel Sprague NOAA Fisheries PIRO

Eric Kingma WESPAC (Voting)

Shelly Lynch US Army Corps of Engineers

Eric Roberts

Janice Fukawa US Navy

This agenda is for planning purposes only and is subject to change.